To be 30 and still feel 17

So at thirty years old I find myself already bemoaning my lost youth and now preparing to share my feelings of shame and loss with the world. Okay so it may not be as bad as all that, but turning the big 3-0 really knocked me for a loop in ways I never expected. When you are in your twenties you still have a ‘get out of jail’ free card on stupid behavior because you’re young and you’re supposed to sow those wild oats while you still can. At thirty your oats are expected to be sown and especially if you are a woman, you are expected to be a full fledged member of the adult community complete with house, husband, great career, and child in tow.  You are not expected to be me – single, childless, and recently unemployed. Oh it gets worse people, I quit my cushy teaching position to sow some oats – some really, really wild oats. I’ve always done what was safe and expected and by thirty if that route was for me, well it should have worked by now – right? So I’m doing the unexpected from now on. I quit my job to write full time and in two weeks I’m moving from Virginia to a small secluded northwest Montana town. I know no one there, I have no gameplan, and I couldn’t be more excited. Please join me on this journey of discovery for me and hopefully for some of you as well as we navigate the waters of our adult lives and become lost no more!

2 thoughts on “To be 30 and still feel 17

  1. fluzie says:

    Love it! I wish you all the luck in the world on your journey…
    From a 50ish going on 19 year old x

  2. skarba says:

    wow- this sounds like its going to turn out interesting- well done on taking charge and doing what you want to!

Leave a comment